Angus Mitchell

Mr Angus Mitchell


Angus Mitchell has extensive experience in organisational leadership and management, maritime operations and safety investigation.

He joined the ATSB from Maritime Safety Queensland, where as General Manager he oversaw the safe and efficient movement of vessels into and out of Queensland’s 21 ports, and was responsible for compliance activities and safety investigations for Australia’s largest recreational maritime fleet.

During his tenure, Maritime Safety Queensland was recognised with an Australian Industry and Shipping Award for its role in managing international shipping throughout the COVID pandemic and supporting the welfare and safety of international seafarers.

Prior to leading Maritime Safety Queensland, Mr Mitchell was the Executive Director of NSW Maritime, where he oversaw Australia’s largest state’s primary maritime regulatory, investigative and compliance agency. He has also served as Deputy Harbour Master – Operations for Sydney Ports, where he was responsible for managing day-to-day port operations for both Sydney Harbour and Port Botany.

Angus is a former officer of the Royal Australian Navy having seen service in operational, policy and international roles. He is an Indonesian linguist and commenced his five-year term as ATSB Chief Commissioner and Chief Executive Officer on 2 September 2021.

Gary Prosser

Mr Gary Prosser


Gary Prosser has 40 years' experience in the maritime industry, coming from a seagoing career and serving on a wide variety of Australian ships in both the international and domestic trades. He was part of the inaugural intake to the Australian Maritime College (AMC) in 1980 and later went on to lecture at the college.

For a number of years, Mr Prosser managed offshore supply vessel operations in Bass Strait prior to moving to Tasmania where he headed up the Polar Division of an international organisation managing the Antarctic and Marine Science Vessels for the Australian Antarctic Division and the CSIRO.

Initially joining the Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA) in 1997, Mr Prosser had a variety of senior management roles with the authority and was appointed Deputy Chief Executive Officer in 2007.

In 2009, Mr Prosser was appointed as Secretary General to the International Organization for Marine Aids to Navigation (IALA) headquartered in Paris prior to returning to AMSA in 2015 and retiring in 2019.

In addition to his maritime qualifications, Mr Prosser has a Bachelor of Education degree and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Prosser was appointed a Commissioner of the Australian Transport Safety Bureau in October 2019.

Chris Manning

Mr Chris Manning 


Chris Manning has over 40 years experience in the aviation industry. Beginning his aviation career in the early 1970s, Mr Manning was a Qantas cadet pilot from 1970 until 1972. He then became an air traffic controller from 1973 until 1975 before returning to Qantas as a pilot.

During his Qantas career, Mr Manning gained his command on the Boeing 767 in 1989, and was a check and training captain throughout the 1990s. From 2003 until his retirement from the airline in 2008 he held the position of Chief Pilot and Group General Manager Flight Operations. He also held the position of president of the Australian and International Pilots’ Association from 1999 until 2002.

Since retiring from flying, Mr Manning has been a chair of The Australian Aviation Associations’ Forum, is a Director of AMDA (organisers of the Avalon Airshow), a founding Director of the Australian Aviation Hall of Fame, Chairman of Airport Coordination Australia, and a Director of the Historical Aircraft Restoration Society Foundation.

He was appointed a commissioner of the Australian Transport Safety Bureau in March 2015.

Catherine Scott

Ms Catherine Scott


Catherine Scott has extensive experience in rail safety, aviation and road transport, finance and risk management, and board directorships.

From 2012 to 2020 Ms Scott served as a non-executive director of the Officer of the National Rail Safety Regulator (ONRSR), and was previously deputy chair and chair of the audit and risk committee of VLine Passenger Pty Ltd.

In her earlier professional career, she held senior positions in the investment banking and finance industries, including five years as a senior executive at Australian Airlines (which subsequently merged with Qantas Airways) as Treasurer Capital Markets.

Ms Scott also currently serves as a non-executive board member and member of the Finance, Risk and Audit Committee of the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator.

Other prior board memberships include VicWater; chairperson, deputy chair and audit committee chair of the Goulburn Valley Region Water Corporation; and non-executive director, deputy chair and chair of the audit and risk committee at VicForests.

A Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Ms Scott holds Bachelor of Science (Honours) and Bachelor of Commerce degrees from the University of Melbourne.

Ms Scott was appointed a Commissioner of the Australian Transport Safety Bureau in September 2020.