Western Australia joins the national rail safety scheme

Rail lines

From 2 November 2015, the ATSB will start investigating accidents and incidents on Western Australia’s metropolitan and regional passenger, and freight rail networks. 

This new focus in Western Australia will see more investigations conducted across a greater range of safety matters. It will also mean that the ATSB will be the mandatory notification point for all Category-A occurrences within Western Australia.  

The changes are a result of Western Australia joining the national rail safety scheme. The Office of the National Rail Safety Regulator (ONRSR) will also assume regulatory oversight in the state.

Western Australia now joins South Australia, Tasmania, Northern Territory, New South Wales, Victoria and the Australian Capital Territory in the national scheme.

Reporting rail safety occurrences

  • ATSB is the national independent, no-blame safety investigator for rail incidents and accidents.
  • Report all Category-A rail occurrences to the ATSB on 1800 011 034.

More information on rail accident or incident notifications.



Last update 03 November 2015