ATSB Commissioners Carolyn Walsh and Chris Manning reappointed

The Australian Transport Safety Bureau (ATSB) welcomes the reappointment of Ms Carolyn Walsh and Mr Chris Manning as members of the ATSB Commission.

Ms Carolyn Walsh and Mr Chris Manning with the ATSB’s Chief Commissioner Greg Hood

Their appointments, announced today by the Deputy Prime Minister, the Hon Michael McCormack MP, commenced on 20 March 2018 and will run for a further two years.

The ATSB’s Chief Commissioner Greg Hood said the reappointments are excellent news, both for the Bureau and for transport safety in Australia.

“Ms Walsh has over 30 years’ experience in policy development, regulation and safety management at both the Commonwealth and state levels,” said Mr Hood. “She has 15 years’ experience in the transport sector, initially as Executive Director of Strategy in the NSW Office of the Coordinator General of Rail, as Chief Executive of the NSW Independent Transport Safety and Reliability Regulator, and more recently as Chair of the National Transport Commission.”

Ms Walsh has specialist expertise in transport safety, occupational health and safety, risk management and the regulatory framework governing transport operations in Australia.

With over 40 years’ experience in the aviation industry, Mr Manning was first appointed as a Commissioner of the ATSB in March 2015. In the early 1970s, Mr Manning was an air traffic controller and then became a pilot for Qantas from 1975 until 2008 where he held the position of Chief Pilot and Group General Manager Flight Operations.

“Mr Manning flew several Boeing types gaining a B767 command in 1989,” said Mr Hood. “He was a check and training captain throughout the 1990s and was president of the Australian and International Pilots’ Association from 1999 until 2002.

“The work of both Ms Walsh and Mr Manning on the Commission has been exemplary,” said Mr Hood. “We’re fortunate to have them with us, working to make transport safer in Australia.”

More information on ATSB's Commissioners can be found here.

Last update 02 May 2018